Lake Day

On Sunday Carlos and I kicked off Semana Santa by taking the girls to the lake!  The lake we go to is called Laguna de Apoyo and is a crater lake on top of a dormant volcano outside of Masaya.  It is so beautiful and clean and we always love going there.

This was the first time that the girls had ever been there and it was great to see them experience it for the first time.  We kayaked, swam until our arms fell off, and stuffed our faces with popcorn.  I’d say it was a success.  Here are some pictures from the trip:

As I mentioned earlier, this week is Semana Santa in Nicaragua, a.k.a. Holy Week.  All of the schools and the government are closed for the week and most people head out to the beaches.  While this time is supposed to commemorate the death and resurrection of Jesus, most people here use the time to party.  However, there are many celebrations throughout the country during the week to commemorate Jesus.

Carlos has to work this week so it’s a normal week, but he does have a long weekend that we will use for rest.  We are excited to celebrate Easter with our new church on Sunday.

The resurrection of Christ is the reason why, as believers, we have hope and look forward to the future!  Jesus has given us new life and we have a Father in heaven who is our Provider, our Caretaker, our Hope, and our Love.  For this, I am grateful.  In this, I have found my identity.  It’s more than a righteous man dying for the unrighteous, it’s the very Son of the one true God, coming to this sin-filled earth, and taking on my sins, washing me clean, and saving a place for me in heaven.  It’s security in knowing that no matter what happens, God has my back.  The creator of the universe has my back and loves me.  It’s security that I don’t have to have shame, guilt, condemnation, but freedom, grace, and unending love.  It’s comfort in knowing that my worth is not found in what people think or say about me, but it’s found in how important I am to God.  Last but not least, it’s living without fear of what’s to come, without fear of death, and with unfathomable power over the dominions of this world.  Because Jesus died on the cross, beat death, and resurrected from the grave, I no longer have to be afraid of the enemy who is constantly on the prowl of who he can devour.  I can look at life without fear, without oppression, and with confidence that the war for my soul and my mind was won when Jesus died on that cross and resurrected from that grave.  And guess what?  Easter, the resurrection, the death of Christ, the gospel, God’s love, is for everyone.  I cannot wait to celebrate the resurrection of Jesus this Sunday!

“Death has been swallowed up in victory.1 Corinthians 15:54-55

For what I received I passed on to you as of first importance: that Christ died for our sins according to the Scriptures, that he was buried, [and] that he was raised on the third day. 1 Corinthians 15:3-4

Jesus said to her, “I am the resurrection and the life. The one who believes in me will live, even though they die; and whoever lives by believing in me will never die. Do you believe this?” John 11:25-26

 If you would like to support us, click on the ‘Join Me’ page at the top!

 

 

Leave a Reply

