New Life Chapter: Fundraising

 When you come face to face with fear, you are looking at the very next place God is preparing to grow your heart. – Christine Caine

Hi everyone!  It’s been awhile (as usual).  You haven’t missed much.  I wanted to take some time to share with you a little bit about Nicaragua and what my family and I are about to step into.

Nicaragua is great.  It is hot.  There are lots of volcanoes and lakes that are super beautiful.  My favorite lake is Laguna de Apoyo, literally a lake made out of a volcano.  And the people here love their food (especially their gallopinto).  Nicaragua is a country with a lot of poverty, governmental corruption, and trash.  There is a severe need for proper health education, Jesus, and empowerment.  Life here is very hard for most people.  Despite the fact that people live with less, with hard histories and traumatic childhoods, they are so warm and welcoming.  The people of Nicaragua are friendly, always willing to share what they have, and they know how to have fun.  Of course, there are always exceptions, but from my experience, that is what I have seen.

There are hundreds of ministries and organizations working in Nicaragua to help improve living conditions, educate people about medicine and sanitation, and teach people how to be sustainable.  With that, there are hundreds of people loving the people of Nicaragua.

And because of that, that so many people came to help, I have the opportunity to work alongside the Nehemiah Center, helping to share with the world what this organization is doing in Nicaragua.  And this is the next chapter of my life.

For the next 9 months I will be working with the Communications Coordinator on newsletters, stories of locals, and blogging for the Nehemiah Center.  Since being in Nicaragua I have not been able to obtain my residency due to strict immigration laws.  Because of the whole no residency thing, I am not legally allowed to work in most companies in Nicaragua.  But, that’s okay.  When I moved here one of my main purposes was to do ministry and now God has opened a door for me to do that.

The Communications Intern position that I accepted with the Nehemiah Center is a volunteer position, so with this new chapter comes fundraising.  My husband has a good job, but unfortunately, it does not allow me to volunteer freely.  We are in need of supporters who are willing to pray over us and help us financially in order for me to work with the Nehemiah Center and to do ministry.  The money given will allow me to shine a light on the lives of the Nicaraguans and on what the Nehemiah Center is doing here.  I am very passionate about the locals and this is my way of helping.  By spreading awareness, more people can support the growth and strengthening of the people in Nicaragua.

I ask that you would open your heart to God and support my family and me in this.  It has been a long and hard road for us to get to this point of accepting to fundraise, but this is where God is opening for us to step, and frankly, it is one of our last options if we want to continue in Nicaragua as a family.  My God is the God who provides and says not to worry (Matthew 6).  So I’m stepping into this prayerfully and hopeful that God will use this time for me to grow myself and gain experience in Nicaragua while we wait for the bigger picture.

If you wish to support us financially, you can make a donation here.  Our goal is to raise at least $2300 for the next 4 months.  This is to live on, to save, and to be able to do our own ministry on the side.  We also have prayer requests that we would like you to partner with us as well.  This is a two way street here, so whatever prayer requests you have, please share them with me.  Here are ours:

  • Our marriage: that we would not give satan a foothold.
  • Our faith: that we would live on the bread of God every day and trust in His provision.
  • That our expenses would be covered every month and that we have enough money to save for our future family and for the future of the family that we have now.
  • That our project would develop and turn into a blessing to the people involved.
  • Transportation: it is very overwhelming for me to take public transportation alone and the Nehemiah Center is quite an adventure from our house. Currently, we do not have a car so Carlos and I have to take public transportation.  I am okay with taking taxis, but that cost adds up.  Please pray that we would be able to afford to buy a car soon so that we all have a safe way to get to where we need to be.
  • Immigration: it has been harder for foreigners to get their visas extended in Nicaragua, and vice versa, it is hard for people to get visas to the United States.  This has presented challenges in our present situation and also thinking long term.

This new opportunity is something that I am very excited about but I cannot do it without your support.  Unfortunately, this is not a paid position.  Fortunately, I have a big God on my side.  Thank you for reading and if you have any questions please do not hesitate to ask.  There is a tab at the top named “Join Me” and you can bookmark the page so that you can have the link to where you can donate.

Leave a Reply

